University of the Cumberlands
News Photo
Football - Wed, Jan. 9, 2013

The 2013 National Guard Border Bowl is a non-profit organization established to promote high school football in Kentucky and Tennessee.  The objective is to provide an ALL-STAR game featuring the top players in Kentucky and Tennessee.  This game allows players to have one more opportunity to play, practice and battle it out for the rights to the border.  It also allows high school seniors to gain additional exposure and perhaps earn a scholarship for college.  This year the game will be played on Saturday, January 12th with kick-off at 12:00 PM at James H. Taylor, II Stadium in Williamsburg, KY, home of the University of the Cumberlands Patriots. 

On Wednesday, January 9th, 2013, over 100 players and 17 coaches will arrive in Williamsburg to participate.  The teams will waste no time as they will begin practicing that night and up until game day on Saturday.  The team from Kentucky will have 54 players coached by 10 coaches. The team of Tennessee will have 52 players and be coached by 8 coaches. 

The Tennessee All-Star tentative roster released for the 2013 National Guard Border Bowl is as follows: Mark Staver (Brentwood Academy), Reese Phillips (Signal Mountain), Antonio Webber (Millington), Contrez McCathron (Mt. Juliet), Terrance Turner (Elizabethton), Phillip Booker (Nashville Christian), Trenton Schuler (Maryville), Tae Martin (Siegel), DJ Griffin (Seymour), Logan McCarter (Sevier County), Blade Durbin (Gatlinburg Pitman), Deondre Moore (Fairview), Rion Hall (Oak Ridge), Allante Novene (Hixson), Logan Winders (Maryville), Ian Glover (Elizabethton), Derek Pickard (Brentwood), Sam Edmonson (Fairview), Austin Arnold (Grace Christian), Shane Muse (Pigeon Forge), Josh Wilson (Alcoa), Donnie Dockery (Farragut), Hunter Skalecki (Daniel Boone), Austin Bailey (Boyd Buchanan), Haden Freels (Rockwood), Ralph Watson (Sevier County), Dean Taylor (Fulton County), Trevor Guilliam (Dobyns Bennett), Malik Brewer (Boyd Buchanan), Jamison Frazier (Siegel), Austin Singleton (Blackman), Rance Hardin (Boyd Buchanan), Peyton Phillips (Riverdale), Shawn Sullivan (Fulton), Grant Jareway (Science Hill), Demonta Daniel (Dickson County), George Odum (Millington), Cory Fox (Pigeon Forge), Cody Carr (Mt. Juliet), Blake Bowman (Jackson County), David Emmanuel (Lavergne), Montario Washington (Powell), Mitch Mersman (Dickson County), Alex Sigmon (Tennessee), Lane Bloom (William Blount), Mike Johnson (East Ridge), Justin Horner (Gatlinburg Pitman), Hagan Wikley (Red Bank), and Nick Meyers (Maryville).

Team Tennessee will be led by Head Coach Greg Wyant from Siegel High School.  His staff will include Brian Guthrie (Siegel High School), Shane Boggs (Tennessee High), Lee Hammonds (Pigeon Forge High School), Shwan Witten (Elizabethton High School), Rob Black (Fulton High School), Tracy Malone (East Ridge High School), and Anthony Crabtree (Beech) 

The final and official roster for the 2013 National Guard Border Bowl will be released on Friday.  The roster will include the jersey numbers for each team. 

The 2013 Border Bowl will kickoff at 12:30 pm on Saturday January 12th.  Tickets are $10 with children under the age of 10 admitted free; students will pay $5 per ticket.  In addition, all military and their family members will receive free admission to the game. 

For more information about the 2013 National Guard Border Bowl, please visit, email Andy Croley at [email protected], or call 606-215-1235.