University of the Cumberlands
News Photo
Football - Wed, Jan. 9, 2013

The 2013 National Guard Border Bowl is a non-profit organization established to promote high school football in Kentucky and Tennessee.  The objective is to provide an ALL-STAR game featuring the top players in Kentucky and Tennessee.  This game allows players to have one more opportunity to play, practice and battle it out for the rights to the border.  It also allows high school seniors to gain additional exposure and perhaps earn a scholarship for college.  This year the game will be played on Saturday, January 12th with kick-off at 12:00 PM at James H. Taylor, II Stadium in Williamsburg, KY, home of the University of the Cumberlands Patriots. 

On Wednesday, January 9th, 2013, over 100 players and 17 coaches will arrive in Williamsburg to participate.  The teams will waste no time as they will begin practicing that night and up until game day on Saturday.  The team from Kentucky will have 54 players coached by 10 coaches. The team of Tennessee will have 52 players and be coached by 8 coaches. 

The Kentucky All-Star tentative roster released for the 2013 National Guard Border Bowl is as follows: Cade O'Bryan (Ashland), Cam Lewis (Ballard), Tony Messer (Belfry), Jonathan Polly (Bell County), Cameron Pangallo (Bellevue), Daniel Hubbard (Berea Community), Hopkins Kentayvus (Bourbon County), Allen Gonsalves (Bowling Green), Richard Trent (Breathitt County), Webster Cole (Caldwell County), Jacob Hyde (Clay County), Christian Mcneal (Clay County), Cameron Fogle (Connor), Matt Jewell (Corbin), Michael Jones (Danville), Jacob Tobias (Edmonson County), Elijah King (Fairview), Brady Nagel (Fern Creek), Aaron Jackson (Frankfort), Domontria Pierce (Fulton County), Tucker Lewis (Harlan County), Jake Middleton (Harlan County), Jordan Olinger (Hazard), Andrew Penleton (Henry Clay), Domonick Brown (John Hardin), Wade Holtsclaw (John Hardin), Jeffrey Canady (Knox Central), Justin Carr (Lafayette), Tranard Chester (Lafayette), Anthony Kersey (Lexington Catholic), Trey Mattingly (Lexington Catholic), Dominique Johnson (Louisville Central), Brandon Parks (Madison Central), Dylan Beasley (Nelson County), Johhny Hopkins (North Hardin), Rashawn Andrews (North Laurel), Myles Walker (Owensboro), Logan Cart (Owensboro Catholic), Austin Pray (Perry County Central), Boone Saylor (Rockcastle County), Lucas Williams (Russell County), Nathan Davis (Ryle), Karl Roesler (St. Xavier), Tevin Slaughter (Somerset), Warren Williams (Somerset), Weston Little (South Floyd), Dennis Oxendine (Tates Creek), Darrius Lancaster (Warren Central), Dagan Shelton (Wayne County), David Bryant (Whitley County), Jacob Jeffers (Williamsburg), and Logan Hamblin (Williamsburg). 

Team Kentucky will be led by Head Coach Tom Larky from Harlan County High School.  His staff will include Joe Prince (Owensboro Senior High School), Mike Holcomb (Breathitt County High School), Mike Croley (Bellevue High School), Bert Browne (Madison Central High School), Mike Jackson (Ballard High School), Shawn Thompson (Wayne County High School), Chris Larkey (North Laurel High School), Ovie Canady (Harlan County High School), and Tony Saylor (Rockcastle High School).

The final and official roster for the 2013 National Guard Border Bowl will be released on Friday.  The roster will include the jersey numbers for each team. 

The 2013 Border Bowl will kickoff at 12:00 pm on Saturday January 12th.  Tickets are $10 with children under the age of 10 admitted free; students will pay $5 per ticket.  In addition, all military and their family members will receive free admission to the game. 

For more information about the 2012 National Guard Border Bowl, please visit, email Andy Croley at [email protected], or call 606-215-1235.