University of the Cumberlands
News Photo
Football - Thu, Nov. 15, 2012

The University of the Cumberlands (UC) football program is continuing a stellar 2012 season as they finished the regular season at 9-1 and 4-1 in Mid-South Conference (MSC) play.  The #7 Patriots will play host in the first round of the NAIA Football Championship Series (FCS) on Saturday.  As they prepare for the game, the Mid-South Conference has announced its yearly awards as UC earned a plethora of honors.  

Terrance Cobb (Knoxville, TN) and Weston Hazelhurst (Clinton, TN) were named the offensive and defensive players of the year for the MSC East Division on Thursday.  Cobb currently leads the NAIA in rushing yards (1,640) and rushing yards per game (164.0).  Hazelhurst currently leads the NAIA in tackles for loss (23.0) and tackles for loss per game (2.3). 

Eight Patriots earned MSC East Division All-Conference 1st team honors out of the 30 named to the 1st team.  Those Patriots earning All-Conference honors were offensive lineman Colby Hitchcock (Loganville, GA), running back Terrance Cobb, wide receiver Willie Gibson (Abbeville, GA), defensive lineman Nick Smith (Knoxville, TN), linebacker Weston Hazelhurst, defensive back Dewaun Harrison (Chickamauga, GA), defensive back Adrian Hightower (Macon, GA), and punter Mitchell Mascaro (Knoxville, TN). 

Six other Patriots also earned MSC Honorable Mention honors.  Those receiving Honorable Mention were quarterback Jay Bright (Fayetteville, GA), running back Iquan Deed (Montezuma, GA), running back D'Angelo Jordan (Jacksonville, FL), kicker Justin Dyer (Woodburn, KY), defensive lineman Jared Stippert (Clearwater, FL), and return specialist Dekeldric Felton (Oglethorpe, GA). 

Ten Patriots also earned Academic All-Conference honors this season.  In order to be nominated by an institution, a student-athlete must maintain a minimum grade point average of 3.25 on a 4.0 scale and must have achieved at least sophomore academic status.  Those Patriots earning Academic All-Conference were Chad Bond (Tullahoma, TN), Jay Bright, Ethan Brown (Dawsonville, GA), Cory Clark (Seymour, TN), Joe Dauscha (Huntland, TN), Brandon Dutton (Knoxville, TN), Justin Dyer, Gabe Jefferson (Cumming, GA), Mitchell Mascaro, and Al Merrick (Pineville, KY). 

The #7 Patriots will host #9 MidAmerica Nazarene University in the first round of the NAIA Football Championship Series on Saturday at James H. Taylor, II Stadium in Williamsburg, KY.  Kickoff is set for 12:00 pm. 

For more information on the Patriot football program along with other Patriot athletics, please visit